Strange News
Movie Reviews
Ghost Stories

Free HTML Newsletters

Return to Home Page
John Ashbery

Wakefulness[ Click to Order Ashbery's Wakefulness (hard $) ]     John Ashbery, born in Rochester, New York, in 1927, is the author of nineteen books of poetry, including Wakefulness; The Tennis Court Oath; Can You Hear, Bird; And the Stars Were Shining (1994); Hotel Lautrémont (1992); Flow Chart (1991); April Galleons (1987); A Wave (1984), which won the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror (1975), which received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the National Book Award; and Some Trees (1956), which was selected by W. H. Auden for the Yale Younger Poets Series. His other publications include Reported Sightings (1989), a book of art criticism; a collection of plays; and a novel, A Nest of Ninnies (1969), with James Schuyler; and edited The Best American Poetry 1988. Ashbery was the first English-language poet to win the Grand Prix de Biennales Internationales de Poesie (Brussels), and has also received the the Bollingen Prize, the English Speaking Union Prize, the Feltrinelli Prize, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, two Ingram Merrill Foundation grants, the MLA Common Wealth Award in Literature, the Harriet Monroe Memorial Prize, the Frank O'Hara Prize, the Shelley Memorial Award, and fellowships from The Academy of American Poets, the Fulbright Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the MacArthur Foundation. He serves as a Chancellor of The Academy of American Poets and is currently the Charles P. Stevenson, Jr., Professor of Languages and Literature at Bard College, dividing his time between New York City and Hudson, New York.     Flow Chart[ Click to Order Ashbery's Flow Chart: A Poem (soft $) ]

Links of Interest:

  Copyright © 1999
Poetry Previews.
All Rights Reserved
Home | MessageBoard | Chat | Poetry Links | Contact Us Recommend Site

Previous Poet Next Poet